Table of Contents

 1. What do you understand with testing

Testing is a set of activities to test the software with the intent to find maximum defects. It is a mapping between the expected result with the actual result. Finding defects helps deliver quality software that meets users’ requirements.

2. What is the role of testing?

The role of testing is to ensure key functional and non-functional user requirements. Testing comes after the development phase in software development. It is very important to do the right amount of testing so that the user gets a quality and bug-free product.

3. What are the different types of testing?

There are two types of testing, Manual and Automation. And then, there are subsets of manual testing.

Manual testing has three types of testing: white-box, black-box and grey-box testing.

  • White-Box Testing: It is an approach that allows testers to inspect and verify the internal implementation of the software.
  • Black-Box Testing: It is an approach that allows testers to test without having any knowledge of the internal implementation. It is just to check whether it is meeting the customer’s requirements without any knowledge of the code.
  • Grey-Box Testing: In this approach, we test the software with some knowledge of the code. It is a blend of both white-box and black-box testing.

4. What are the different testing levels?

Software testing is a process of testing software to ensure that the product is delivered bug-free to the customer. Levels of software testing ensure that no component is left without testing. There are different levels of testing, each has its own role to perform.

There are four levels of testing:

  • Unit/component testing
  • Integration testing
  • System testing
  • Acceptance testing

5. Can you explain the difference between STLC and SDLC?

The software development life cycle is the process of the overall software development process beginning from requirements gathering to the deployment and the maintenance of the product.


Testing is a phase of the development life cycle and the processes involved in the testing come under the software testing life cycle.

6. How do you explain STLC?

  • Software testing life cycle is the whole process of how testing is performed, and what are the phases involved. The testing life cycle consists of six phases:
  • Requirement analysis
  • Test planning
  • Test case development
  • Test environment setup
  • Test Execution
  • Test cycle closure.